What Is A DUID in the State of Colorado?
Many people typically associate the term ‘DUI’ with alcohol. In fact, some even believe that being found with a BAC (blood alcohol content) above the legal limit is the only way you can end up with a DUI charge.
However, the term driving under the influence is an umbrella term that encompasses any situation where a driver operates a vehicle while impaired by substances besides just alcohol. A DUID charge is another possibility that all drivers should be aware of.
DUID is a legal term that refers to the act of operating a vehicle while under the influence of one or more drugs. Having even trace amounts of illegal substances in your system can bring about a conviction carrying severe consequences.
DUID Under Colorado Law Is Treated As A DUI or DWAI
Under Colorado Law, a DUID offense is the same as an alcohol-related DUI or DWAI in terms of the potential penalties imposed. The only difference is that it arises from the use of drugs besides alcohol.
You may be charged with driving under the influence in Colorado if you are caught driving or in physical control of a vehicle while with prescription medications, narcotics, or alcohol in your system that markedly impairs your ability to drive safely.
Legally Prescribed Drugs and Driving
It is crucial to note that you can still be charged with a DUID if you are found driving while impaired and that impairment has been caused by a legally prescribed medication.
Police officers are specially trained to recognize instances where an individual has been impaired by prescription or over-the-counter prescriptions. Same as in instances where intoxication has been caused by alcohol resulting in slurred speech, slow reflexes, bloodshot eyes, and more, individuals impaired by prescription drugs may also appear agitated or lethargic.
A DUID is Just As Serious As A DUI
Just like a DUI, the potential consequences of a DUID conviction can be quite severe. The penalties are even heftier for repeat offenders and can include additional fines, jail time, loss of licenses, and more.
A conviction for a first-time DUID offense carries a potential maximum jail term of one year, a 9-month license revocation, a maximum fine of $1,000, and 12 points on your driver’s license.
A conviction for a second-time DUID offense carries a maximum jail term of one year, a one-year license suspension, a maximum fine of $1,500 (in addition to court costs), and compulsory public service requirements.
A conviction for a third-time DUI carries a maximum jail term of one year, a one-year license suspension, a maximum fine of $1,500 (in addition to court costs), 2 years of probationary supervision, and up to 120 hours of compulsory probationary supervision.
As you can see, a DUID conviction can carry severe and potentially life-altering consequences. Due to this, it is imperative for all drivers facing a DUID charge in Colorado to be familiar with the relevant laws, and enlist the services of an experienced Colorado Springs criminal attorney as soon as possible.
NEED LEGAL HELP?
Contact Us Now!
NEED LEGAL HELP?
Contact Us Now!