Continuing from where Colorado Sex Offender Registry Requirements: 6 Facts to Know (Pt. 1) left off, below we will continue discussing some important facts that people should know when it comes to registering as a Colorado sex offender.
More Facts about Registering as a Colorado Sex Offender
Fact 3 – People are required to register where they live and/or go to school.
This is a key element of the Colorado sex offender registry requirements, and it specifically mandates that a person who has been ordered to register as a Colorado sex offender:
- Register with the law enforcement agency in the city or town in which he lives (If a person lives outside of city or town limits, he will have to register as a Colorado sex offender with the county sheriff’s department.)
- Register in every jurisdiction in which he has a residence
- Register in the jurisdiction in which he attends school (even if he works at or simply volunteers at this school).
Additionally, a person will have to reregister every time he moves – including if he ends up moving out of state. If a person does not have a fixed residence, then he will be required to notify the registration agency in the area in which he will remain. In these cases, the individual will have to re-notify the agency on a monthly basis by showing up to the agency in person (to verify he is still in that jurisdiction).
Fact 4 – The length of time people are required to register will depend on the specific offense associated with the conviction.
Although people who have been deemed by the courts to be “sexually violent predators” will be required to register as a Colorado sex offender for the remainder of their natural lives, people convicted of less serious sex offenses will have specific durations for their registration requirements. These can range from being 5 years to as much as 20 years, depending on the nature of the sex offense for which they were convicted.
In general, these time limits are as follows:
- For Class 1, 2 or 3 felony sex crimes, people will typically have to register as a Colorado sex offender for 20 years, after which time they can petition the courts to release them of this requirement.
- For Class 4, 5, or 6 felony sex crimes (as well as for third-degree sexual assault or unlawful sexual contact), people will typically have to register for 10 years, after which they can petition for the release of this requirement.
- For other misdemeanor sex offense, people will generally have to register for at least 5 years.
Be sure to check out the upcoming conclusion to this blog series.
Colorado Springs Criminal Defense Lawyers at Kohn Law Firm
Have you or a loved one been charged with failing to register as a sex offender or any crime? If so, the Colorado Springs criminal defense lawyers at Kohn Law Firm are ready to aggressively defend your rights and help you bring your case to a successful resolution. At Kohn Law Firm, we believe that our clients deserve exceptional service, ethical treatment and aggressive representation. That’s why we are here to help you navigate the complexities of the criminal justice system, minimize the negative impacts on you and your family, and ultimately help you protect your freedom and future.
To learn more about how we can help you, set up a free initial consultation with us by calling us at (719) 328-9555 or by emailing us using the contact form at the top of this page.
From our offices in Colorado Springs, we represent clients throughout the Pikes Peak region and Colorado.