If you are facing Sexual Assault charges, please call us. We can help you.
The Colorado sex offender registry is essentially a database that retains details about people who have been convicted of certain sex offenses in Colorado Springs. When people are required by the courts to register as sex offenders in Colorado, there are some very strict rules they have to follow in order to:
- Comply with the terms of their probation (or parole)
- Avoid facing new criminal charges (namely, Failure to Register charges).
In this blog series, we will discuss some of the more important facts that people need to know when they are required to register as a Colorado sex offender. If you have questions not answered in this blog series or if you need help mounting the strongest possible defense against any sex offense charges, don’t hesitate to contact the Colorado Springs criminal defense attorneys at Kohn Law Firm
Requirements for Registering as a Colorado Sex Offender: Here’s What You Need to Know…
Fact 1 – People convicted of certain sex offenses will be required to register as a Colorado sex offender.
In fact, according to Colorado law, people who have been convicted of the following sex crimes after July 1, 1991 will be required to register as Colorado sex offenders:
- Unlawful sexual offense
- Enticement of a Child
- Internet luring of a child
- Sexual exploitation of a Child
- Unlawful sexual contact
- Sexual assault, including first-degree and second-degree sexual assault and sexual assault on a child
- Offenses related to trafficking or prostituting children
- Indecent exposure and public indecency.
It’s important to note that:
- This is not an exclusive list of the sex crimes for which people may be required as sex offenders.
- People who are convicted in other states for sex crimes that would require them to register in Colorado (if they were convicted in Colorado) will be required to register in Colorado also.
Fact 2 – Registration will have to occur within very specific time frames.
In general, people must register as a Colorado sex offender within 5 business days of being released into the community or receiving a notice to register. If a person convicted of a sex crime has been released from jail or prison without any probation or parole (i.e., no court supervision), then he will have to register as a Colorado sex offender the next business day.
Additional time frames associated with registering as a Colorado sex offender are as follows:
- People must reregister within 5 days of their birthday every year (for as long as they are required to register, based on the nature of their convictions).
- People must reregister every three months for the rest of their life if they’ve been convicted of sexually violent offenses, including:
When people who are convicted sex offenders move to Colorado, they will also have 5 business days within which to register as a Colorado sex offender with the law enforcement agency that presides over the city or county in which they will be living.
Be sure to check out the additional installments of this blog series for some more important facts people should know when it comes to registering as a Colorado sex offender.
Colorado Springs Criminal Defense Lawyers at Kohn Law Firm
Have you or a loved one been charged with failing to register as a sex offender or any sex crime? If so, it’s time to contact the Colorado Springs criminal defense attorneys at Kohn Law Firm
To learn more about how we can help you, set up a free initial consultation to discuss your case today!
NEED LEGAL HELP?
Contact Us Now!
NEED LEGAL HELP?
Contact Shimon Kohn Now!