Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) or drugs in Colorado can lead to serious consequences. Among the penalties for DUI/DWAI may be the mandatory setting up an Ignition Interlock Device (IID), which is essentially a breathalyzer connected electronically to your vehicle.
The ignition interlock device (IID) is directed at keeping DUI offenders from driving while impaired or driving under the influence of alcohol. The ignition interlock devices are getting to be commonplace on vehicles today, not only in Colorado but throughout the United States.
The IID is expensive to install and sustain and you may be required to pay for the full price of installation combined with the monthly calibration fees. The IID can also malfunction sometimes, which means you will be stranded without any car whether it offers a false BAC.
To Drive With A DUI, You May Be Required To Get An Ignition Interlock Device
DUI offenders in Colorado agree to the ignition interlock device installed on their vehicles for about 8 months, and their driver’s license will be changed to an Ignition Interlock Restricted license. In some circumstances, offenders must get the ignition interlock device installed for as much as two years.
But, the payoff is that, even with a DUI on your record, you’ll be able to continue driving, provided your BAC is within limits. For those who have to drive to work, drop children off at school or shop for essentials, the inconvenience of the IID will be far outweighed by the fact that you will still be able to drive your car!
So How Exactly Does an Ignition Interlock Device Work?
If a vehicle has a IID installed, you will first ought to blow in to the device before you can start driving so it can evaluate if you might have been drinking. If your BAC is below the NHTSA threshold of .025, the automobile will start and you will drive away.
In Colorado, you will need to periodically blow into the IID while driving. It is called a “rolling retest” as well as a sample has to be provided within a few minutes from the device prompting the driver for the breath sample.
Exactly what are the Ignition Interlock Laws in Colorado?
Colorado law imposes IIDs for offenders hoping to get their driving license reinstated early rather than a sentencing condition. It is necessary to first install an IID before your license could be reinstated and you need to have an affidavit proving which you have.
What Is Early Reinstatement?
The Colorado Department of Revenue has stated that some people who are subjected to alcohol- or drug-related driving restraint could possibly have their driving privileges reinstated ahead of their normal eligibility date should they get involved in the Ignition Interlock program.
Early reinstatement is restricted to drivers who satisfy the following criteria:
- Colorado residents
- 21 years old or older in the course of the violation
- Have satisfied other reinstatement requirements and don’t have any other pending reinstatement actions likely to prevent them from qualifying for early reinstatement.
- Have a DUI, Excess BAC conviction or multiple alcohol-related convictions and possess already served one month to the alcohol-related restraint
- Have got a refusal of your chemical test revocation and possess already served 2 months for that refusal revocation.
Your license is only able to be reinstated after serving four weeks of revocation and after installing the IID. Here’s what you’ll need to agree do to get back behind the wheel:
- 8 months for the first DUI using a BAC under .15
- Two years for any first DUI having a BAC above .15
- Two years for any second DUI conviction
Colorado also requires installing of the IID should you refuse chemical testing. Should you refused to be tested, you will receive a 2-year interlock requirement for your early license reinstatement.
How Much Does the Ignition Interlock Device Cost?
The IID typically costs between $85 and $110 to install. Additionally, you will have to pay the monthly lease fee that averages about $100. However, cellular phone fee may differ, depending on how complicated the procedure is and the particular vehicle that you may have.
Keep in mind that the vast majority of IID providers charge extra fees for clearing lock-outs, taking out the ignition interlock, as well as monthly service downloads that happen to be required at least once every 60 days.
NEED LEGAL HELP?
Contact Us Now!
NEED LEGAL HELP?
Contact Us Now!