Habitual Traffic Offender

Are you faced with being designated with being a habitual traffic offender (HTO)?

If so, your driver’s license is at risk. When you are designated with an HTO tag, you face the possibility of losing your license privileges for 5 years in the state of Colorado.

habitual traffic offender

What Is The Habitual Traffic Offender Designation?

In Colorado, you are designated as a Habitual Traffic Offender when you are convicted of 3 major traffic offenses within 7 years. This is how the Colorado Revised Statutes defines someone that is classified as an HTO within section (42-2-206).

When you have been deemed a habitual traffic offender, you lose your license for a minimum of 5 years. Those who are designated and continue to operate a motor vehicle while their license is revoked can be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor.

The state of Colorado will also look at and consider the driver’s precious convictions from other states and under federal law.

You can be subjected to the habitual traffic offender designation if you have:

  • Been convicted 10 or more times within 5 years involving different moving violations that result in 4 or more points or;
  • Been convicted 18 or more times within 5 years that include moving violations that result in 3 or fewer points each.

There is a multitude of ways to be designated a Habitual Traffic Offender in the state of Colorado. These include:

  • Being convicted of vehicular homicide
  • Being convicted of reckless driving
  • Being convicted of vehicular assault
  • Being convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
  • Being convicted of Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI)
  • Being convicted of driving while your license is either suspended or revoked (DUR)
  • Being convicted of a hit and run that results in either injury or death
  • Being convicted of providing false documentation or information to the DMV
  • Being convicted of vehicular assault

The Penalties For Being Deemed A Habitual Traffic Offender

In Colorado, when you are designated a habitual traffic offender, it can incur various penalties.

You could face 5-year license revocation. This is a much stronger penalty that can negatively impact one’s quality of life. One of the main ways an experienced Colorado Springs criminal attorney can help clients avoid this kind of outcome is by effectively preventing clients from receiving the preceding convictions that need to add up in the first place.

A 1st offense can cause one to spend as much as 18 months in county jail. If one is found to be guilty while driving under the influence while designated HTO, one could face a Class Six Felony. This would result in sentencing to the Colorado Department of Corrections. Likewise, the judge would be eligible to fine you anywhere from $1,000 to $100,000. When determining your sentence, the judge will look at any prior offenses you’ve had that led to you being designated with HTO status. Thus, it could lead to even more harsh penalties.

Been Charged With Habitual Traffic Offender? Call Shimon Kohn

If you have already been charged with being a Habitual Traffic Offender or you are facing the possibility of being charged with the status, you can call our office for the best legal help available. We are ready and waiting to provide a free confidential consultation to ensure you get the best defense possible.

Do not plead guilty before you’ve received professional advice from an experienced Colorado Springs traffic offenses lawyer.

NEED LEGAL HELP?

Contact Shimon Kohn Now!

NEED LEGAL HELP?

Contact Shimon Kohn Now!

The Kohn Law Firm

The Kohn Law Firm

Contact Us