Picking up from Colorado Marijuana DUI Laws: 6 Facts to Know (Pt. 1), here, we will uncover some more essential things you may need to know about marijuana intoxication and driving, according to Colorado state statutes.

Colorado Marijuana DUI Laws: More Crucial Facts

Fact 3 – Colorado marijuana DUI laws deem it illegal to drive around with open pot products in vehicles.

Do you know what Colorado marijuana DUI laws say about driving around with pot? If not, check out this blog. Contact us for the best defense against any DUI charges.

Do you know what Colorado marijuana DUI laws say about driving around with pot? If not, check out this blog. Contact us for the best defense against any DUI charges.

Just as it is against the law to drive around with open containers of alcohol in one’s vehicle, so too is it illegal to have open marijuana products within vehicles’ cabins. In fact, when it comes to having pot products in your car, here’s what you should be aware of:

  • Closed/unopened pot products kept in the trunks of vehicles (or away from vehicle occupants’ access) will generally not cause problems for drivers.
  • If open marijuana products in a vehicle appear to have been consumed, this can serve as probable cause for law enforcement officers to request field sobriety tests and/or blood tests for suspected intoxication/impairment.
  • Colorado marijuana DUI laws also make it illegal for passengers of vehicles to consume marijuana products while being driven around.

Fact 4 – The penalties for violating Colorado marijuana DUI laws can be harsh.

Currently, Colorado marijuana DUI laws stipulate that charges for driving under the influence of THC are misdemeanors. This, however, does not mean that the potential penalties – even for first-time convictions – are anything to ignore.

In fact, should marijuana DUI cases end in conviction, people can face the following penalties (if this is their first conviction):

  • Between 5 days and one year of jail time
  • Court fines of $600 to $1,000
  • A 9-month driver’s license suspension
  • Between 48 hours and 96 hours of community service
  • Possible court-ordered probation.

This does not even begin to touch upon the additional repercussions convicted people can face, as having a Colorado marijuana DUI on one’s criminal record can result in:

  • Lost income, as people have to miss work to resolve their case/complete the terms of their sentence and probation
  • Lost job or career opportunities, as people can get fired after getting marijuana DUIs and they may even lose their professional licenses
  • Negative impacts to their reputations, personal relationships, etc.

For some final crucial facts about Colorado marijuana DUI laws, be sure to check out the upcoming conclusion to this blog series.

Colorado Springs DUI Lawyers at Kohn Law Firm

Have you or a loved one been charged with an alcohol or drug-related DUI offense? If so, the Colorado Springs DUI attorneys at Kohn Law Firm are ready to aggressively defend your rights and help you bring your case to a successful resolution.

To learn more about how we can help you, set up a free initial consultation with us by calling us at (719) 328-9555 or by emailing us using the contact form at the top of this page. From our offices in Colorado Springs, we represent clients throughout the Pikes Peak region and Colorado.