Cost of DUI
The Total DUI Cost in Colorado Springs
See what the hidden cost are if you have been arrested for a DUI in Colorado Springs
30,000 motorists are arrested for impaired driving every year in Colorado. In order to reduce the amount of alcohol-related injuries and deaths, Colorado has made DUI enforcement a top priority. Penalties and costs vary from case to case, but Colorado Springs residents who have been accused of driving under the influence face numerous criminal penalties and driver’s license repercussions.
Apart from these consequences, there are additional expenses and hidden costs related to a DUI conviction that can add up to as much as $10,000 – or more!
It is important to fully understand the charges and penalties you may face, as well as how a Colorado Springs DUI attorney could help.
From court fees to job loss, the financial impacts of a DUI charge are substantial. After a DUI conviction, motorists face a long road of consequences. Listed below are various expenses you can expect after a DUI conviction in Colorado Springs.
- Court Fines & Fees – From a criminal defense attorney to bail fees, court fines and fees can quickly grow to the thousands of dollars. Hiring a lawyer to help navigate the system will cost approximately $2,000 but if you go to trial it will likely cost at least $5,000.
- Alcohol Education Classes – Based on the situation of the DUI accident, the court may require you to take an alcohol education class in order to make sure that you maintain sobriety whenever you drive and understand the effects of excessive alcohol usage. The costs for these sessions range from $150 to $1,000, depending on the length of the class you are required to take.
- Time – DUI convicted motorists in Colorado can expect anywhere between 5 days and 1 year of jail time for the first offense. Many motorists are also required to take part in community service for up to 96 hours. This is time spent elsewhere when individuals could be working, spending time with loved ones, etc.
- Increased Insurance Fees – Now that the insurance company knows that you are prone to further accidents, your insurance premiums will skyrocket, and stay high for a long period of time.
- Job Loss – A first DUI conviction is a permanent record in your criminal history. DUIs are listed as a Class II Misdemeanor. Employers will see this when conducting background checks for applicants. While not always the case, a criminal record can be viewed in an unsavory light and you may not be hired for your desired position. DUI convictions can bar individuals from financial opportunities for years.
- Driver’s License Revocation – Drivers could have their driver’s licenses suspended after a DUI, and motorists are required to pay restoration and administrative fees when applying for a new license.
- Additional Fees – Property damage, victim compensation, ignition interlock devices, and public transportation fees are additional costs you may face, depending on the situation of your DUI conviction.
The court will vary the consequences based on the circumstances of your case. Judges in Colorado may turn to sentencing alternatives, rather than straight jail time. This may include in-home detention, electronic home monitoring, or weekend work programs.
Many drivers often face driver’s license consequences in and outside of Colorado. No matter what the consequence is, those convicted for driving under the influence face debilitating financial barriers and a loss of freedom. It is in your best interest to contact a DUI attorney in Colorado Springs to help navigate the DMV and dispute driving privilege.
In addition to the financial DUI cost, the situation surrounding the accident or arrest will vary the consequences. The following describes the most prominent types of DUI convictions in Colorado and the penalties associated with them.
- DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired) – Motorists may be arrested and convicted if their ability to drive is affected by alcohol, drugs, or prescription medications to the slightest degree. Drivers may also be charged if they have a blood alcohol concentration as low as .05.
- DUI (Driving Under the Influence) – This is described as a substantial effect of alcohol, drugs, or prescription medications that render you incapable of operating a vehicle. You may also receive a DUI if your blood alcohol concentration is at or above .08.
- PDD (Persistent Drunk Driver) – Even if it is your first offense, when your blood alcohol concentration levels are .17 or higher you will be tried and sentenced as strictly as a repeat-DUI offender.
- Vehicular Assault – Drivers who seriously injured another motorist in a crash as a result of impaired driving can be sentenced to 2 through 6 years in prison for a Class IV Felony.
- Vehicular Homicide – If you were driving under the influence and caused a crash where an individual was killed, then you face a Class III Felony and can be sentenced from 4 to 12 years in prison.
DUI convictions vary in severity, but like any action, the more serious the case the higher the consequences. There are ways to plead the case, but Colorado takes DUI offenses very seriously. More than 240 people are killed in alcohol-related crashes in Colorado each year, along with over 4,000 injuries.
Even if you did not cause a crash, officers will often perform roadside sobriety tests and arrest drivers for DUI. Colorado State Patrol and Colorado State Parks are aggressive in their enforcement efforts so it is difficult to avoid arrest.
The amount of penalties and costs related to a DUI conviction are focused on preventing drivers from getting behind the wheel while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It is important for motorists to consider the financial consequences at stake.
Should you face DUI charges, Colorado Springs DUI attorney Shimon Kohn can explain the charges and penalties as well as protect your rights in the Colorado legal system.
NEED LEGAL HELP?
Contact Shimon Kohn Now!
NEED LEGAL HELP?
Contact Shimon Kohn Now!